Closet Purge, and Creating a Minimal Wardrobe.

Pile of clothes

The first step to recovery is admitting you have a problem.

I am a clothing hoarder. I form unnatural emotional and sentimental bonds with physical pieces of fabric.

But really, I hold onto out of style, ill fitting, uncomfortable clothes because I feel connections with where I have worn said item and how I felt at that time. Even though I won’t ever wear it again, or it looks horrible on me (seriously wtf was I thinking), or I only wear it once a year because everything else is dirty or I think “oh I haven’t worn this in forever, better put it on”.

I have been looking into the minimalist wardrobe theory for a while now, and for some reason I had a fire lit under me to get on it recently.

First I made piles of things I knew I needed to get rid of. Then I looked through what was left and took more. And more. And more. I was really hard on myself, and my clothing, and only kept things I wear all the time, and I know are classic pieces that would go with a lot.

I ended up with a pile consisting of

  1. 9 Dresses
  2. 13 Long Sleeve Shirts
  3. 20 Short Sleeve Shirts
  4. 7 Jackets
  5. 2 Scarves
  6. 2 Pairs of Jeans
  7. 3 Skirts
  8. 4 Pairs of Shorts
  9. 1 Vest (why was this even purchased to begin with lol)
  10. 9 Purses and 1 Wallet
  11. 9 Pairs of Shoes

Whew. Are you exhausted from that? I know I am

Then came the purge! I took all of my items to Uptown Cheapskates then what they didn’t  take I hauled over to Plato’s closet.

Together they gave me $70 for 2 purses, 5 dresses, 12 SS shirts, 3 jackets, 1 scarf, 2 skirts, and 2 pairs of shorts. Needless to say I was pleased with my earnings on old clothes I wasn’t wearing anyway. Very liberating. I took the remaining clothing and shoes to Goodwill for donation.

I now have holes in my wardrobe that need to be filled, and the cash I earned from the old stuff with be going towards filling them. I will be investing in classic, well made (even if slightly more expensive) things that I know will last forever and making sure that each item I buy can work with multiple other pieces to make the most out of my outfit choices.

I haven’t narrowed down my closet to a set list of 30 must haves, but I am using this list from the House for Five blog as a general guide to making it.

Let me know if you have purged lately, and how it made you feel in the comments!

Leave a Reply

