Travel Bucket List!

I am a nomad at heart and have been from an early age. Having a hippy mother with the same tendency helped to intensify that. I have lusted over pictures of different countries for as long as I can remember and my goal in life is to visit as many different ones as I can. Until recently I hadn’t actually made a LIST on paper of where exactly I wanted to go the most, but I sat down and made my “bucket list” and thought I would share it!

Also, if you feel so inclined, I have created a Go Fund Me page to help me get to my first planned destination, #5! Any little bit counts and would greatly help me raise the funds to get out there by my goal date. And of course by helping me get out there you are helping me create what I’m sure will be a photo filled breakdown blog of my trip!

Onto the list!

In no particular order:

1. Holi in India.

holi

Holi is the festival of colors for one of the Hindu religion’s biggest holidays, so I couldn’t think of a better time to go and visit india to really experience it at its more jubilant.

2. Oktoberfest in Germany.

oktoberfest-hall-germany_37285_600x450

This is the picture that started it all! It is the Oktoberfest Main Hall in Munich. I saw this in a National Geographic mag in school when I was around 10-11 and fell in love. What a beautiful idea and gathering! My mother’s side of the family is fully German so naturally I want to visit my “motherland” and why not (again) go during a time when the culture is at its most prevalent and joyous?

3. Summer Solstice @ Stonehenge in England.

stonehenge

I’ve heard tell this is the only time of the year that people are allowed into the center of the stone circle. Thousands of people from all over the world gather at the Henge before sunrise on the eve of the summer solstice to play music, converse, and celebrate the occasion. Many people say they got a sense of belonging, peace and connection to the earth like they have never felt before as the sun comes over the horizon. Don’t know if there is truth to that, but why not go and find out?!

4. The Blue Lagoon Geothermal Spring in Iceland.

blue lagoon

 

I do not like the cold. At all. I am cold natured, and anything below 70 is cold to me, but I would be more that willing to deal with it to visit this beautiful place. It’s basically a HUGE shallow lake that is filled by geothermally heated ground water from under the earth’s crust (so like a huge bath or hot tub, which I am ALL about). The water is said to have healing properties, but I’m more about the views of the mountain vistas all around and the relaxation part.

5. St. Patrick’s Day in Ireland.

St-Patricks-Day-in-Dublin3

This continues my thought process of going to a country when its people are at their most celebratory and raucous. Not only will this afford me what is sure to be a festive time in downtown for the parade and general debauchery but Ireland has beautiful countryside and amazing abbys and castles to go see.

6. Sunset in  Montebuoni Italy.

Now I couldn’t find I picture to do this justice, so I’ll just like a video of one here. (skip to 8:12 is to see.) The sunsets here are like paintings. Almost unbelievable. Definitely a must see in my book.

7. Burning Man in Nevada

Burning Man 2011

If you haven’t heard of Burning Man, get your life together and go watch one of the hundreds of documentaries on it. Why do I want to go? Because I am a hippy and I want to experience everything this amazing festival has to offer me and my soul.

8. Tomorrowland in Belgium.

tommorowland-2013

A beautifully put together and visually stunning music festival in another country? Why not?! They also have sister festivals in Brazil and Atlanta Georgia but I feel like the real thing is the way to go.

9. The Northern Lights in Norway/Sweden/Finland

Northern Lights

I put three places because you can see the northern lights best in these countries, and I would love to visit all of them!

10. Kilic Ali Pasa Hamami in Istanbul.

kilic-ali-pasa-hamami

Not last and not least this beautiful Hamam. It is a traditional Turkish Bath house where they give you a full body massage followed by an intense body scrub. Istanbul is a beautiful place as well and I want to try their very talked about tea as well!

These aren’t the only places on my list, but you have to start somewhere! Let me know which places are on your bucket list in the comments! And if you can head over to my Go Fund Me page and help me get to Ireland!

 

 

Leave a Reply

