2014 Beauty Favorites!

Insert standard “Where did the year go?” ramble here.

But , really… that was fast. But luckily I had ample time to fall in love with some stuff, and form unhealthy obsessions with others. So many things in fact that I am splitting them up into beauty and skincare/miscellaneous (Click here for part 2 Skincare Favs!)

I have discovered a ton of amazing cruelty free products this year, but I am still in the process of using up/cleaning out my stash of all non-cruelty free stuff, so some of my favorites aren’t cruelty free, but I will note which ones are with CF for clarification. Also, for all of the categories that I don’t have a cruelty free favorite for, I would LOVE suggestions of a cruelty free option to try next!

Foundation (kind of)- Garnier Skin Renew BB Cream SPF 20 for Combo/Oily Skin in Light/Medium: Didn’t change color after application, didn’t make me any oiler. I liked it.

Concealer-Physician’s Formula Conceal RX Physician’s Strength Concealer (CF): I have had this for over 2 years… I know, I need to throw it out. It works well but can highlight dry patches on breakouts. Not good for undereye in my opinion since the formula is dryer.

Undereye- Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Brightener Shade: Helps to neutralize my INTENSE under eye darkness, but doesn’t completely cover it. Again, not completely wowed by it but it’s the best one I have tried thus far.

Eye Primer- Elf Eyelid Primer in Sheer (CF): This keeps my shadow from creasing for wayyyy longer than I thought it would. Do like.

Mascara- Covergirl Clump Crusher: Natural non clumpy dark lashes.

Liquid Liner- Jordana Fabuliner in 01 Black: I quite like the dryish application and the felt tip on this. Easy to get precision out of, but you must work fast. Going over dry lined portions will remove product causing patches.

Pencil Liner- Rimmel ScandalEyes Waterproof Kohl in 001 Black: Nice to use in upper and lower water line. Does transfer and slip with wear though.

Brow Pencil- Maybelline Define-a-Brow in Light Brown: Works very well. Very small nib and matches my brows fantastically.

Brow Gel- Maybelline Clear Mascara: Another “I’ve used this for years” product. Works well, but can have too much on the wand when you pull it out of the tube. Looking forward to trying out some tinted ones next.

Lip Color- Burts Bees Tinted Lip Balm in Rose (CF): I’m not a lipstick, or lip gloss kind of girl, so tinted balms are my thing. Great color, slightly moisturizing and decent wear time. Only draw back is it smells like the wax in Twizzlers…

Lip Balm-Burt’s Bees Nourishing Balm w/ Mango Butter (CF): This has saved my lips. Nice smell and lingers long enough to do some work.

Bronzer- Rimmel Natural Bronzer in Sun Light: I have repurchased at least twice. Great non muddy or orange color and blends well.

Powder-Rommel Stay Matte in Silky Beige: Another great product. Doesn’t cake and blends well. Need CF alternative ASAP!

Blush-Elf Contouring Blush and Bronzer Duo: (CF) I believe the blush is supposed to be a dupe for Nars Orgasm. Beautiful, glittery in the pan but not on the face. I’m not really a blush person, but this works for me.

Eye Brush-Aveda Flax Sticks Eye Contour #6 Brush (CF): I got this in my student kit when I went to Aveda forever ago and it has help up fantastically through washing and abuse. Great for blending. I looked online and it seems it can only be bought in a set (called special effects) with two others (which I also have and use). Good brushes!

Face Brush-Real Techniques Powder Brush (CF): Giant fluffy self standing brush. Has held up well with no shedding and is super soft. I want to get more from this brand!

Let me know what your favorites where this year in the comments, and Happy New Year!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

